Warped Tour

warped-logo

"Ska and Reggae Bands Making Their Presence" by Jason Gallagher

In 1994, taking its name from the skateboard magazine, Warp Magazine, the Vans Warped tour made its debut in the concert circuit thanks to Kevin Lyman.  While Warp Magazine was short-lived, the Warped Tour is still going strong 17 years later.  In the past, the tour has been tailored more toward the hardcore music scene.......

 

logo

Ska and Reggae Bands Making Their Presence

Felt at the 2011 Warped Tour

By: Jason Gallagher

expendables-2011In 1994, taking its name from the skateboard magazine, Warp Magazine, the Vans Warped tour made its debut in the concert circuit thanks to Kevin Lyman.  While Warp Magazine was short-lived, the Warped Tour is still going strong 17 years later.  In the past, the tour has been tailored more toward the hardcore music scene, hosting bands like Underoath and August Burns Red among many others.  This year, however, several well-known ska and reggae bands, like Passafire and The Expendables, have managed to push their way into the lineup.  Music of this genre has been displayed on the Warped Tour in previous years, with talent like The Aggrolites and The Long Beach Dub All-Stars, but not yet to the extent of this year’s reggae heavy lineup.  It is my hope, as I am sure it is many others as well, that there will be a positive response to the new music on the tour and it will be a reoccurring theme on the Warped Tour in years to come.

pepper-int-coverA higher concentration of these bands in 2011 displays the growth and evolution of the Warped Tour over the years, moving from a bill consisting of primarily heavy music to one with various genres thrown in as well.  They have embraced the ska and reggae music scene with open arms and have broadened their fan base as a result.  As the tour integrates new bands and sounds into their shows, the Warped Tour as a whole will continue to evolve into something that I believe will be bigger and better than before.  The new blood on the tour will not only reach out to a wider range of listeners, but will at the same time stray away from the rut of single genre tours that so many other music festivals have fallen into.  It will be interesting to see how the long time fans of the tour react to the newfound presence of reggae and ska amongst the more hardcore music they are used to seeing and if they will be as accepting as others have been.  I know that bands like Big D and the Kids Table and The Aggrolites have played more than once on previous tours, so hopefully regulars at the Warped Tour are already accustomed to the sound.  That being said, from what I have read so far on the tour’s website, fans are psyched about the appearance of the new reggae bands this year.  Hopefully the positive energy from the site will translate into a good turnout for the shows this year.

By Jason Gallagher

Just a few bands to look forward to at this year incredible Warped Tour Lineup:

The Aggrolites

illScarlett

Lionize

Big D And The Kids Table

Less Than Jake

Mojo Morgan

Passafire

Pepper

The Expendables

 

Fri Jun 24, 2011 Gexa Energy Pavilion Dallas TX 118 Buy
Sat Jun 25, 2011 The Showgrounds At Sam Houston Race Park Houston TX 114 Buy
Sun Jun 26, 2011 AT&T Center San Antonio TX 86 Buy
Wed Jun 29, 2011 NMSU Practice Field Las Cruces NM 40 Buy
Thu Jun 30, 2011 Plaza Hotel - Parking Lot Las Vegas NV 39 Buy
Fri Jul 01, 2011 Pomona Fairplex Pomona CA 90 Buy
Sat Jul 02, 2011 Shoreline Amphitheatre Mountain View CA 74 Buy
Sun Jul 03, 2011 Ventura Country Fairground At Seaside Park Ventura CA 64 Buy
Wed Jul 06, 2011 Sandstone Amphitheatre Bonner Springs KS 39 Buy
Thu Jul 07, 2011 Verizon Wireless Music Center Noblesville IN 68 Buy
Fri Jul 08, 2011 Comerica Park Detroit MI 90 Buy
Sat Jul 09, 2011 First Midwest Bank Ampitheatre Tinley Park IL 100 Buy
Sun Jul 10, 2011 Canterbury Park Shakopee MN 61 Buy
Tue Jul 12, 2011 Darien Lakes Fields Darien Center NY 66 Buy
Wed Jul 13, 2011 Comcast Center Mansfield MA 105 Buy
Thu Jul 14, 2011 Toyota Pavilion At Montage Mountain Scranton PA 64 Buy
Fri Jul 15, 2011 The Flats at Arrow Hall Mississauga ON 63 Buy
Sat Jul 16, 2011 Parc Jean-Drapeau Montreal QC 45 Buy
Sun Jul 17, 2011 Comcast Theatre Hartford CT 70 Buy
Tue Jul 19, 2011 Marcus Amphitheatre Milwaukee WI 60 Buy
Wed Jul 20, 2011 Blossom Music Center Cleveland OH 86 Buy
Thu Jul 21, 2011 Susquehanna Bank Center Camden NJ 57 Buy
Fri Jul 22, 2011 First Niagara Pavilion Burgettstown PA 81 Buy
Sat Jul 23, 2011 Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum Uniondale NY 76 Buy
Sun Jul 24, 2011 Monmouth Park Raceway Oceanport NJ 36 Buy
Tue Jul 26, 2011 Merriweather Post Pavilion Columbia MD 91 Buy
Wed Jul 27, 2011 Farm Bureau Live At Virginia Beach Virginia Beach VA 62 Buy
Thu Jul 28, 2011 Verizon Wireless Amphitheater Charlotte NC 105 Buy
Fri Jul 29, 2011 Central Florida Fairgrounds Orlando FL 63 Buy
Sat Jul 30, 2011 Cruzan Ampitheatre West Palm Beach FL 67 Buy
Sun Jul 31, 2011 Vinoy Park St.Petersburg FL 53 Buy
Mon Aug 01, 2011 Aaron's Amphitheater at Lakewood Atlanta GA 72 Buy
Tue Aug 02, 2011 Riverbend Music Center Cincinnati OH 86 Buy
Wed Aug 03, 2011 Verizon Wireless Amphitheater St. Louis MO 67 Buy
Thu Aug 04, 2011 Westfair Fairgrounds Council Bluffs IA 13 Buy
Fri Aug 05, 2011 Invesco Field at Mile High Denver CO 52 Buy
Sat Aug 06, 2011 Utah State Fairpark Salt Lake City UT 23 Buy
Sun Aug 07, 2011 Ashley Furniture Homestore Pavilion Phoenix AZ 56 Buy
Tue Aug 09, 2011 Cricket Amphitheatre San Diego CA 38 Buy
Wed Aug 10, 2011 Cal State Dominguez Hills Carson CA 66 Buy
Thu Aug 11, 2011 Sleep Train Amphitheater Marysville CA 35 Buy
Fri Aug 12, 2011 Idaho Center Amphitheatre Nampa ID 12 Buy
Sat Aug 13, 2011 The Gorge Amphitheatre George WA 56 Buy
Sun Aug 14, 2011 Washington County Fairgrounds Hillsboro OR 50
Login to post comments